Legacy SSE

As SSE is starting to get the kinks worked out and modders are more able to easily adapt mods from Classic to SSE (you will never hear me referring to it as Oldrim and Newrim), there have been more and more people asking for insight into making Legacy work on SSE. Some ask out of curiosity and others out of impatience and a desire to use Legacy on SSE. I’m flattered that Legacy matters so much to you that you want to move heaven and earth to try and get it working in your game ASAP, but I think you are creating more headache for yourselves than is warranted.

I only bring this all up because it is coming up more and more often on the Legacy mod page and I figured I would explain it all right here and now, so people understand and so I can stop repeating myself.

Legacy requires SKSE to function as designed. It will RUN without it, but not as intended, therefore it is a requirement. Legacy utilizes dozens of different SKSE functions in various ways through every facet of the mod from quest functionality, display systems, all support functionality, and many other custom mechanical features. Legacy has 1277 scripts to date, developed over the last 3 years and honestly I use SKSE so interchangeably that I have to stop and think about it sometimes in order to remember if it’s an SKSE or vanilla function, and being so many scripts I have no idea which have them and which do not anymore, so I am not going to try and itemize or assess which features work without SKSE and which do not, that’s just an impractical use of time.

I ran a test on classic, running just Legacy and disabling SKSE, just to humor a recent inquiry about running Legacy SSE without SKSE being available and the result was a 750 page long papyrus log that was over 2.5mb in size. Any log over about 800kb is pretty large and anything over 1MB indicates extensive save damage or load order issues. There were over 300 errors in the log from non GetformFromFile SKSE functions that failed to run because SKSE wasn’t there (GetFormFromFile stack errors are harmless). These errors were the result of me COC’ing into the museum from the main menu, talking to Auryen, running the prep station once and activating the replica workstation. I was in game a total of about 5 minutes.

Ultimately if you ran Legacy on SSE now, many features would work, but I would not guarantee their stability or consistency. I’d hate for people to play thinking everything was working fine because displays were coming up and quests were still being given, just to find that their game implodes from the weight of the errors on the stack or failed quest functionality with the explorers in late game. That would be a bummer.

I also had someone inquire about starting up now and upgrading to the official Legacy SSE later, and while that would be fine from a script perspective because functions can snap back into the system with no problem, as opposed to script properties which must be cleaned or intact from the start, the issue with this is that Legacy will have several core components stripped from it prior to release on SSE and be radically revised. Namely MoonPaths to Elsweyr will be removed and set up as optional support because it’s now being supported by someone for SSE, who I am working with on certain elements and compatibility. The removal of the records from moonpaths between the current Legacy version and the official Legacy SSE release will be extensive and cause massive shifting of record numbers which will result in save game damage. So again, not advisable.

So while I may not be willing to investigate and declare in a list that A, B and C features will work and D, E and F will not in order to prove my point, I would still appreciate if people would take it on faith that I know how my mod works and that it is ill advised to try and run Legacy as it is on SSE without SKSE64 being ready. I think I’ve earned that level of trust by now.

That all said, I do appreciate people’s curiosity and excitement, I’m not trying to stomp on that by any means, but increasing occurrences of these types of questions will prompt more people to want to try and make it work early and will ultimately mean more headache for me when they inevitably have an issue and come asking about it without specifying that they are tinkering with SSE. My biggest stress inducer is when features and elements I have in place and believe to be working are suddenly reported to not be, and there is no logical reason why they shouldn’t be. Bug reports given without full details will lead me to assume that I have messed something up, and that’s a shitty feeling. I take pride in my work … well… working, and having lots of modding Neophytes tinkering with Legacy on their own for SSE will mean a lot of bad juju for me.

So folks, please be patient. I am excited for SKSE64 eventually coming to SSE, and it allowing me to convert Legacy over and start work on Relic Hunter, but right now I need to focus on polishing up Legacy as it stands now so that when that migration happens, it will be as clean as possible. I will not be supporting Legacy classic once it is ported to SSE, so I want it to be working as perfectly as possible before that transition.

3 thoughts on “Legacy SSE

  1. I definitely appreciate you letting us know what’s up. I find it extremely difficult to play Skyrim without Legacy, but I’ll try my best. Keep up the great work! I’m really looking forward to your other mods. They sound exciting!

    Like

  2. While playing Skyrim SE without Legacy constantly makes me feel as if I am missing something, LOL, I for one will wait quite patiently on a hopeful future SE version. I still have many items to collect in Skyrim Classic anyway! Plus there are so many mods waiting on SKSE that I love, I am messing with Skyrim SE at this point mostly for modding visuals and trying out quest mods, followers, and player homes that I just can’t shove into my Classic Skyrim load order at this point.

    I highly recommend this approach actually. Until Skyrim SE catches up with Skyrim Classic in functionality, use it to play new quest mods and new companion stories, new lands, etc. that aren’t available for Classic Skyrim or you don’t want to try to fit into your lovingly balanced and carefully modded Classic Skyrim. Then, when Legacy is available for SE, you can start over a new game just dedicated to all it’s glory! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey man. You have done a tremendous job over the years with the mod and absolutely no one can say any differently. Apart from few rather tiny bugs here and there which you will fix and make the mod perfect as you stated, Legacy is flawless.

      With lack of a personal email or any other form of contact I am writing here hoping you will at least think of this idea for a few seconds :D. I was thinking of a quest line idea while playing Legacy and seeing that you will make Odyssey for Skyrim SE I was thinking that would be the perfect place to put it in. SKSE64 will be with us sometime in the future and after that porting Legacy and creating Odyssey will take a good bit of time, so there is both time and space where to place this quest line. So here goes: at 1250-1500 artifacts stored in the museum + the hall of legends from odyssey there will be a rift (portal) that would be created from all those artifacts surging with so much power so close to one-another. The portal would invite in some unpleasant Daedra (at this point maybe you can make a script to make all Solitude population go in their homes in fear and make all stores and bars unopened for business and trade (there is even a mod for it I think)), which will roam the streets of Solitude looking to steal some of the artifacts, mainly the Daedric ones. So fight some of them in solitude and then go through the rift in Oblivion and have a boss fight with “insert boss from elder scrolls universe here” and then once again emerge victorious (maybe even with some extra powers from the other side?!? Who knows..? Anyway, that is my ideea, it could very well be expanded and polished or otherwise scrapped if you don’t see it fitting with your ideas for the upcoming content. Nevertheless great mod, you created Legacy for Skyrim so you very well made a legend within a legend and for that we are thankful. On the off chance my idea isn’t that stupid/crazy/impractical than I don’t mind expanding it for your mod (story + dialogue); just hit me up on my email.

      Peace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

