Gearing up for the Future

So part of my frustration in modding full time like I am is the limitations of the tools at hand. CK crashes, load times, running out of RAM, minimal video performance issues, slow loads on Skyrim, 3DO fighting with the CK on which of them is going to eat all my RAM first… it gets infuriating.

A couple years ago I bought my first pre-built system in a very VERY long time. I’ve traditionally always built my own systems but it was my first desktop system after making a switch to 100% laptop use a number of years back. But when I got into modding, it became very apparent that I was going to need more power, so I bought what I currently have been using.

Quickly RAM become an issue, which I have upgraded since, and now it yet again is becoming a concern. disk access speed and stability, backup options, and a very sub par GPU are all pressing in on me. The power supply is inadequate to support a better video card and the ventilation is like living inside a furnace filter… it’s awful.

Couple these limitations with the fact I have expanded my tool sets and skill sets with things such as Quixel Suite, Material maker, Crazy Bump, monthly subscription to Adobe CS (photoshop), its amplified exponentially, my hardware concerns.

So to that end I’ve finally made the decision to invest in a new system, and not just a new system, but something pretty close to top of the line, which I will be building myself. Here is what I have in mind:

  • i7 7700k 4.2ghz chip
  • Asus ROG Maximus IX Formula Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance LED 64GB RAM 3200MHZ
  • Corsair RM850i power supply
  • Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB SSD drives (x2) (one for OS, one for programs and working files (still have an external USB 3.0 SATA drive for backups)
  • Asus GTX 1080 ti 11GB GPU
  • basic tower case with good ventilation
  • liquid cooling system
  • Replacement of outdated (and incompatible) Wacom tablet
  • OEM of Windows

So… I present this all to you in hopes you might help me reach my ultimate goal. Either by giving me some recommendations on what I’ve listed above, if you have a good source or “in” to get some of this stuff more reasonably priced than the typical market (I planned on getting it all at Fry’s as they seem to overall have the best pricing), or by helping me reach the financial goal of $3000. Now I know that’s a huge chunk of change for sure, and I’m currently working to save towards that and have about 1/3 of it saved up already, but any little bit of help is… well… helpful and appreciated.

It goes without saying that a boost of performance will equate to a boost in productivity and bring me that much closer to getting Odyssey and other projects live faster.

Anyhoo. Thanks for reading and putting up with my PBS pledge drive style appeal. If you are interested and able to chip in and help in any way, you can make a one time donation via PayPal on the Nexus mod page for Legacy (link in the top right), or pledge any amount of support (one time or sustained) on my Patreon Page. Thanks again.

TOTAL RAISED: $1011.20 / $3000

33percent.png
Leave a Reply

